Monday, December 14, 2009

NSTP lift Nazrin trophy

By K. Kandiah

NEW Straits Times Press (NSTP) defeated Felda Hockey Club by a single goal in the Classic Men's Open final to lift the Raja Dr Nazrin Shah Challenge Trophy in the 36th USM Penang-International Sixes and Sevens Hockey Fest 2009 at the Universiti Sains Malaysia Synthetic Turf Hockey Stadium in Minden yesterday.

This was the first time that NSTP, who play in the KL Division One hockey league, lifted a silverware after participating at the competition for many years said its team manager K. Jayakumar.
Both teams were playing cautiously, and ended the first half scoreless and with about 90 seconds left in the clock before the final whistle, NSTP's P. Sivanesan picked up the ball from a free hit and tapped it to Medrianto in their own half.
Medrianto collected the ball and ran solo with none of his opponents near to challenge him, drew the goalkeeper out and slammed the ball home for the winning goal. NSTP collected RM1,000 while Felda Hockey Club received RM700.
A hat trick by Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin helped KL Hockey Club trash defending champion Nur Insafi 4-0 in the Men's Open Premier final and lift the Sultan Azlan Shah Challenge Trophy. The other goal was by Azli Misron.
For their win, KL Hockey Club received RM2,000 while their opponent, Nur Insafi settled for RM1,400 in cash prize money.
In the Women's Open final, KL Senior Ladies defeated Perak's RPS Blues 3-1 to capture the Governor Of Penang Challenge Trophy. Kannagi Arumugam, Nur Hafizah Azman and Nuraini Rashid scored for the champions while Norzuliana Hamzani replied for RPS Blues.
The KL Seniors collected RM1,200 while the runner-up RPS Blues received RM800.
RESULTS - (all finals) Men's Premier League: KL Hockey Club 4 Nur Insafi Penang `C' 0.
Classic Men's Open: New Straits Times Press `B' 1 Felda Hockey Club 0.
Institutions of Higher Learning Men: Universiti Putra Malaysia `A' 1 Universiti Putra Malaysia `C' 0.
Men's Veteran: Jolly Lads KL 3 KL Irrigation 2.
Classic Women's Open: KL Senior Ladies 3 RPS Blues 1.
Institutions of Higher Learning Women: Universiti Putra Malaysia `B' 2 Universiti Putra Malaysia `A' 1.