Friday, March 9, 2007

Kota Tinggi make Junior League debut


TWELVE teams confirmed participation for the MHF-Milo-NSC Junior League when entries closed at the National Hockey Stadium in Bukit Jalil
The number of entries is the same as last year. Kota Tinggi Sports
School, the second sports school in the country, are the newcomers this
"Electrical Switchgears Automation (ESA) submitted an incomplete entry form and we have given them until tomorrow (today) to submit full details or risk being disqualified," said MHF secretary S. Satgunam.
The good news is that Project 2001 players will not be barred from
taking part in the League.
"MHF want them to play as many matches as possible. This year, the
League will be played at eight venues, viz Universiti Sains Malaysia,
Azlan Shah Stadium, National Hockey Stadium, Kota Tinggi Sports School, Pandamaran Stadium, MPPJ Stadium, Tun Razak Stadium and Seremban Dua Stadium.
"There will be 12 matches a week and the final will be on June 6," said
Perak Malays, Andersonians, Petaling Jaya Municipal Council and Tampin District are making a comeback after skipping the tournament last season.
Teams who took part last year but did not submit entries this season are
Kedah Sports Council, Klang Municipal Council, Terengganu Youth Club,
Perak Sports Council and Sikh Naujawan Sabha Malaysia.
Last season, Old La Sallians of Klang (Olak) were crowned as double
champions. In the fight for the overall title, they beat Malacca Municipal
Council (MMC) 2-1.
The opening match will be between Olak and Malacca Municipal Council on April 6.
The teams: Electrical Switchgears Automation (ESA), Malacca Municipal Council, Johor Sports Council, Old La Sallians Klang (Olak), Bukit Jalil Sports School, Tenaga Nasional Berhad, Yayasan Negri Sembilan, Perak Malays, Ipoh Andersonians, Petaling Jaya Municipal Council, Tampin District, Kota Tinggi Sports School.