Sunday, February 4, 2007

Milo Cup now on zonal format


THE Under-18 Milo Cup will be held from July 24-Oct 10 at various venues
around the country on a zonal basis, unlike the previous carnival format.
"We decided on the Zonal format because the earlier carnival approach
was too hectic. Right now the teams will have more time to play soccer,"
said Syed Ahmad Kuning, FA of Malaysia's (FAM) Director of Youth and
The Milo Cup will be entering its 12th year of competition, and
according to Ahmad, it has produced numerous national players.
"This is a good base for selecting backup players for the national team
and it has proven its worth in the past. We will have selection officials
at all venues," said Syed Ahmad.
Fifteen teams will take part in the tournament with the Bukit Jalil
Sports School (BJSS) making its debut.
Last year the tournament was held at the Police Depot grounds and Kuala
Lumpur emerged champions when they beat Selangor 2-1.
Kelantan and Terenggana will kick off the tournament on July 24 at the
Ketereh Municipal Council field and the tournament will be played on a
home-and-away basis right up till the final.
The champions will receive RM20,000 and runners-up RM10,000.
There will be no third place playoff.
Zone A: Kedah, Perak, Penang, Perlis; Zone B: Selangor, Kuala Lumpur,
Sarawak, Sabah;
Zone C: Kelantan, Terengganu, Pahang; Zone D: Negri Sembilan, Malacca,
Johor, Bukit Jalil Sports School.